Tim Burton: Artistic Genius

For someone who worked in a movie theater for three years and loved it, I’m actually not all that into movies.  I’m very specific about the types of films I like, and I tend to stick within those genres.  Am I missing out on some great films?  Probably, but I’ve ventured outside of my comfort zone many times and often spent the whole movie cringing and counting down the seconds until the end.  There is one director, however, who can get me to willingly leave my beloved genres behind without a second thought, and who rarely disappoints.  That director is Tim Burton.

The thing about Tim Burton is that he’s one of those guys that you either love or you hate.  I happen to love him.  His work is so original; nothing at all like the typical cookie-cutter films that are mass-produced in Hollywood.  Burton sees things differently, he pushes the boudaries.  Such an approach can be dangerous, but the rewards make it worth the risk.

My all-time favorite Burton film is The Nightmare Before Christmas.  I was only 4 when it came out and it quickly became a household favorite.  Jack and Sally were just so perfect together.  Sweeney Todd is another favorite of mine.  The casting, costuming, and interpretation of the storyline were brilliant as always.  And the fact that the devestatingly handsome Johnny Depp was the star made it even better.  Which brings me to another fact:  Burton + Depp = breathtaking brilliance.  And no, I’m not just saying that because Johnny’s fantastic-looking.  In addition to being so hot that it should be illegal, he also happens to be an amazing actor with incredible depth who never likes to do the same thing twice.  Pair that with Burton’s unique world view and you have movie magic waiting to happen.

So what’s the latest movie magic?  That would be Burton’s interpretation of Alice in Wonderland.  This was one of my favorite stories growing up….until my high school literature teacher ruined it by pointing out that Carroll was a pedophile with a thing for little blonde girls….oh well, it’s still a good story.  I can’t wait to see how Burton manipulates it and makes it his own.  But as the release is still about nine months away, I will have to make due with these promo shots for a bit longer until the trailer comes out 🙂

Leave a Reply

