Routine

If there’s one thing I hate, it’s change.  That might seem a little odd coming from someone who moved halfway across the country on her own because she felt like it, but it’s true.  In Illinois I had a set routine.  Sure, I mixed it up sometimes, but it was always there to fall back on.  I worked at certain times, I hung out with certain people at certain times in certain places, and it worked.  The chaotic transition to NYC was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done.  Yeah, I went to Stony Brook for a year beforehand, but I don’t really count that for some reason.  Maybe it’s because my parents dropped me off and my roommate and I hit it off right away. Within days I had a whole new secure routine to take my mind off the fact that I wasn’t in Illinois anymore, and my closest family was a two and a half hour plane ride away.

I didn’t have that kind of smooth transition when I moved to the City.  It was rough.  I had been so stressed about finding a place to live before I came up here that I basically developed insomnia, and it didn’t get any better once I arrived because my sublet was only for one month and I needed to find another place.  Not to mention that I had to find a job and was completely alone socially.  Sure, I warmed up to my fellow subletter after the initial period of emotional hell, but she was busy and I was busy, and it was definitely not the same as living in a dorm with someone who was on the same schedule and had the same priorities.

Things didn’t calm down until I found a 3 month sublet, started school, got a job as a hostess at Dock’s restaurant, and then got a second job at LJB PC a week later.  Finally, a routine was falling into place.  Time went on, I made friends and acquaintances at school, I found I permanent place to live, and I quit hosting to be able to devote more time to LJB.  LJB is an awesome job, once you get used to it.  I contemplated quitting many times in the first couple months because I was just so bored, and didn’t talk all that much with my coworkers.  My, how times have changed…..  I really don’t know how or why it happened, but AC, Chin, EK and I became pretty close.  I imagine the hell of busy season had something to do with it, but whatever it was, I’m glad it happened, even if it has made me turn every innocent phrase into something perverted 😀

But now everything’s about to change.  I’m leaving for Russia on Saturday, and EK’s leaving for vacation and then law school on the 15th.  By the time I get back in August, she’ll be gone….. Today was our last day working together and it was really sad.  We had gotten cupcakes yesterday (omg, Magnolia’s is awesome, but that deserves a whole ‘nother post), then AC, EK, and I went to get pizza and Coldstone today. Saying goodbye when we were finished was depressing.  Yeah, I know she’ll be just across the river in Jersey, but after seeing her for 7+ hours a day five days a week for months, the withdrawal phase is going to be no fun at all 😦

One Response to “Routine”

  1. AD Says:

    Kive87:

    OMG cuteness I just saw this…I didn’t think you’d be posting since you were going away but now I have so much to read! I’m coming to visit you guys when I’m off from school, well unless I’m in Paris then I wont hahaha jk

    AD:

    What makes you think you’re going to be allowed to go to Paris?

    Kive87:

    I’ll just book it then deal with being allowed later lol


Leave a Reply

