Waiting for the fallout

You know what I hate?  When you know something bad is going to happen, but all you can do is wait.  My friend E is leaving in a week to study in France for the academic year.  So far she seems calm and excited but here’s the thing: she’s never really been away from home before.  She went on a 2 week trip to Europe a couple years ago and goes to a college that’s only a two hour drive from her home, where she spends a decent number of weekends during the school year.  She’s never faced having to leave her home and family for *months* without the option of coming back.  Not to mention that she’s going alone.  E is very outgoing and I know she’ll make friends, but I’m afraid that initial period is going to be really hard–especially since she’s not preparing herself for it–and guess who’s going to have to see her crying via Skype?  Yep, me.

It’s not that I don’t want to be there for her, I just think she’s making it unnecessarily hard on herself.  But the little bitch inside of me is whispering that E kind of brushes me off when I’m upset after leaving home, and now she’ll finally understand how much it can hurt.  And as if it wasn’t complicated enough, E just had to throw a bf into the mix.

I’d like to tell you a lot about her bf, but I can’t, since they haven’t been going out that long.  They went on their first “date” in January, didn’t start officially dating until the end of February, and both returned to their separate homes in the beginning of May.  That’s just over two months of official dating with near-daily contact.  But they decided in May that they wanted to be in it for the long haul and were going to stay together while she’s in France.  They saw each other twice this summer, they might see each other at Christmas, and then maybe once or twice next summer before they’refinally together at school again.  That’s a long time to be committed to someone you only officially dated for 2.5 months before the separation began…..

Maybe it’s because I’m not an optimist like E and I’m not into long distance relationships, but I just don’t see this working out.  Add in the fact that she’s admitted that she likes him more than he likes her, and I can practically imagine the post-break up Skype conversation.

As her best friend, it’s my job to support her, so I keep my mouth shut about this most of the time.  Sure, she knows what I think, but I don’t bring it up again and again.  And who knows, maybe I’ll be wrong and she’ll be completely fine with the separation and the relationship will last.  I’d really like to believe that.  But I’ll be damned if my realist personality lets me.

Leave a Reply

