Arrogance is not attractive

 

In one of my management classes this semester, there is a cute-ish guy who has chosen to sit next to me since day one. He’s not bad looking, but as I’m not all that interested in a relationship at the moment, I was going to let him make all the moves.  If he seemed interesting, I’d be willing to give it a shot, but I wasn’t going to go out of my way.

Three classes into the semester, he made that move.  And boy, did he screw it up 😉  He started off normally–introducing himself and asking my name, major, where I was from, etc–but quickly turned the conversation to the thing he was most interested in in the whole world: himself.   He started going on and on about how he had no trouble getting girls who were smart and educated and “on his level,” but it was “so hard to find girls who were attractive, smart, and educated.”  Wrong thing to say to a girl at 9:00 on a Monday morning.   So I asked him “then, you just approached me because of my looks?”  He nodded, then quickly shook his head.  “N-no,” he stammered.  “I mean….you’re really pretty….but you also seem really intelligent and funny.”  Me: “How can you tell?  You haven’t seen me outside of this class and I’ve barely spoken here.”  Him (looking like a deer in the headlights): “Umm….you just…look like that type of person….”

Luckily for him, the professor came in and started class.  He didn’t sit next to me Wednesday. It’s his own fault, really.  If you’re trying to impress a girl and make her like you, don’t start out by saying that you have “no problem” finding other girls.  Also, don’t imply that you only want her for her looks.  That may work on some girls–who probably want the guy for the same reason–but some of us want a little deeper reason.  Oh, and don’t spend the entire first flirtation talking about yourself.  If we want to hear you go on and on about how great you are, we’ll just listen to you in bed….if you manage to make it that far 😉

One Response to “Arrogance is not attractive”

  1. AD Says:

    Kive87:

    “Also, don’t imply that you only want her for her looks. That may work on some girls–who probably want the guy for the same reason”

    Girls that are hot and want to be wanted for their looks want the guy for his money…have I taught you nothing?


Leave a Reply

