Anniversary

Last month was my one year anniversary of working at LJB.  A few days ago, one of my coworkers asked me if I had seen myself staying this long in the beginning. Yes and no.  When I first got the job, I didn’t think about how long I would stay there, I was more concerned with gaining office experience essential for college students pursuing business degrees.  Two weeks after I started, I was ready to quit.  I’m not sure why I didn’t; I was bored because there was so little to do, I couldn’t stand two of the bosses and at least one of the coworkers, and I didn’t seem to be learning much of anything.  But, due to the poor job market and the fact that I knew I needed office experience, I stuck it out.  It didn’t really get better until January came and our first busy season hit.  For the first time in months I actually had something to do and I was getting to know my coworkers better.  Ten months later, a few of us are fairly close–which makes the day go by much faster–but work is starting to slow down again.  I have no idea what I’ll do until next January….which will be my second and last January working here, since I’ll be moving back to Illinois in December of 2010.

 

I’ll be sad to leave, but sometimes you just have to move on.  I loved my shift manager job at the movie theater back home in Illinois and it was so unbelievably hard for me to tell them that I’d no longer be coming back to work on holidays and that I wasn’t interested in a management job all the way out in New Jersey, but it’s all part of moving on and moving up.  I’m not going to college so that I can do a job I could have done without a degree, which is why even if I stayed in NYC, I wouldn’t stay at this job past graduation.  As much as I’ve come to love some of my coworkers and as nice as the casual environment is, I know I can do better.  As a business management student, I’m instinctually drivento do better.  And better is what I’ll be doing two years from now with a real job, a mortgage, a car loan, student loans, and my future laid out before me as a blank slate, waiting for me to make my mark.

Leave a Reply

