Ramble

Ramble

One of my favorite places in the City is the Ramble in Central Park.  It’s a gorgeous network of trails through nearly untamed woods, and it doesn’t get much more beautiful than when the leaves are changing in the fall.  I took advantage of the beautiful weather today to take a ramble through the Ramble, and it was like falling in love 😉

 

To get to this wilderness, you must first weed your way through the throngs of tourists and families.  Climbing over the large rock formation along one side of the large lake, you then cross a crowded bridge, and voila, you have arrived.  It takes a few more minutes of walking before the crowd around you starts to thin, but before you know it, you’re practically alone (well, as alone as you can get in New York City).  Aside from the occasional helicopter or group of obnoxiously loud people, the path is very quiet and serene.  There are many routes to choose from–by the lakeside, over bridges, winding through the trees, etc.  There were several points where I stopped, looked around, and realized there was not another soul in sight.  For the first time in I don’t know how many months, I was not within sight or sound of another human being.  It was amazing.

 

There’s really nothing quite like a walk alone through the woods, listening to the sounds of small waterfalls, and of animals rustling in the leaves.  I’ve never been a people person, and there are few places more populated than New York City, so it’s really nice to have a place where I can just get away without having to stay locked in my apartment.  Nothing against my friends from up here, but I think Central Park is what I’ll miss most when I leave.  After all, friends have facebook, but pure nature cannot be electronically replicated.  And, perhaps, that’s part of the appeal.

Leave a Reply

