Thanksgiving Part One–Macy’s Day Parade

So my friend S and I decided to go to the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade.  She hadn’t gone in years, and I’d never gone in person, so I figured why not?  I’d never been an huge, huge fan of it–I would watch it on Turkey Day only if I happened to stumble across it–but I was up for anything.  So I woke up at 5am and met her in Times Square at 6.  We then headed up to 72nd Street to find a spot.  Even though we got there around 6:20am, it was already really crowded.  We managed to find a spot against the guardrails at 71st and CPW.  We were right near a light post, which obstructed our view a little, but it wasn’t really that big of a deal.

Being the nerds that we are, we had brought slides to study while we waited, since we both had quizzes on Monday.  I mean, we needed to do something to pass the time until the parade started at 9, so why not do something productive?   Well, there was this female cop who was in charge of crowd control in our area who was trying to be really friendly with everyone, especially the kids.  When she saw me and S reviewing slides, she loudly exclaimed “How you reading at the parade?  You should give these spots to people who will use them! Look at them, they’re studying!

Okay, for one thing, it was like 8:15.  The street was empty, and was going to stay that way for the next 45 minutes, so it’s not like we were missing anything.  For another, I don’t recall asking her opinion of how I choose to spend my time.  Yes, we’re studying on Thanksgiving while waiting for the parade.  Yes, some people might consider that really lame.  But, you know, we still have classes on Monday and some of us aspire to greater things than Thanksgiving Day crowd control……

Anyway, aside from that minor annoyance and the fact that we were squished up against the guardrails, the time passed fairly quickly and soon the clowns came by on roller blades to officially start the parade.  The floats were interesting and the balloons were classic but, I have to admit, it was a bit of a let down.  I’m glad I went, and I’m not saying it wasn’t great–it was–but somehow I expected more from the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade.  Maybe it’s because the balloons look a lot smaller in person than on TV which takes away some of the magic…….  That said, it was still fun and amusing, and when Santa came and the end to mark the passing of the holiday torch from Thanksgiving to Christmas, you couldn’t help but smile.

Leave a Reply

