Customer Service 101

I’m usually not the type to gripe about service.  I’m actually quite forgiving, and I know that honest mistakes happen.  But when a mistake happens because the person is an idiot who’s more interested in socializing than paying attention to me, the customer, that’s when I get pissed off.

 

Like tonight I went to Subway for dinner.  I love Subway, and 9.9 times out of 10, I walk out of there happy.  I suppose that’s partially because my sandwich is the whitest sandwich ever, and therefore the easiest to make.  It’s turkey, american cheese, lettuce, tomato, and lite mayonnaise on wheat.  To quote Geico, “it’s so easy, a caveman could do it.”  But apparently the worker tonight was less intelligent than a Neanderthal. He wasn’t new–I’d seen him many times before–but he decided that his Punjabi conversation with his coworker was more important than me, so when I told him “mayonnaise,” somehow he translated that into “ranch.”  How he got to ranch is beyond me, but whatever.  I pointed it out, he half-heartedly apologized, then, instead of replacing the meat and cheese, decided to use a cucumber to wipe off the ranch.  Really?  I mean, fucking really?  In the end it was fine, because I guess my glare of death prompted him to replace everything, but this man really needs to get shipped back to Subway training camp and have the phrase “the customer is number one!” beaten into his brain.

Leave a Reply

