It’s Christmastime in the City…..

Christmas has always been my favorite holiday of the year, especially after I moved to NY for college.  Christmas means a break from school (and from work, now that I don’t work seasonally at the theater anymore), a chance to spend time with my family, catch up with old friends, and just enjoy a stress free existence for a little while.  And, of course, there are the presents 😉  Honestly, I enjoy giving presents more than getting them.  Getting them is always nice, but there’s nothing like the gratification that comes from seeing that someone else likes your gift.  It makes me feel accomplished lol.

Anyway, what’s not to love about Christmas?  Just ignore all the delusional people who still cling to the illusion that it’s about Christianity, and the scrooges who for whatever reason are determined to hate it, and it’s great.

Yesterday I went to see the Rockefeller tree and Saks windows, just because I would feel bad if I didn’t, and trust me, there is no faster way to kill your holiday spirit.  I mean, the tree was beautiful, but there were so many f-ing people! And many of them were tourists who don’t know how to walk and saw no problem with just stopping in the middle of the sidewalk to gawk.  Move it already!  But once I got past the huge crowd and made my way across the street to the windows, it was much less crowded.  The windows were lovely, as always, but compared to the last two years, I’d have to say they fell a little short.  Next weekend I’m planning on going to see the Bloomingdales and Macy’s windows; hopefully they’ll wow me a little more (man, don’t I sound picky?)

Leave a Reply

