Say no to family on facebook!

I’ve been pretty lucky so far in that no one from my family has friended me on facebook.  My grandma, aunt, and cousins are all on fb, but they’ve left me alone.  Apparently my dad–who also has a fb, who knew?!–told them to.  I have never loved the old man more.  For me, fb + family = bad, and here’s a few reasons why:

1.  I’m pretty sure my cousins don’t know about my tattoos, at least, not the tiger one.  I’m also pretty sure that they wouldn’t care, but my uber-conservative grandparents might, so the less mutual contacts who know, the better.

2.  I don’t want to have to screen what I say.  Not that I say anything bad, but we’ve all had the occasional dirty joke or questionable status up there on our page.  Not really wanting my family to get in on the “that’s what she said” portion of my life.  Ever since JChin added her younger sister and a couple other relatives, she’s been a real stick in the mud about what’s “allowed” as far as wall posts and picture comments, when she used to be the worst of us all.

3.  Along the same lines, I don’t want to have to screen my pics.  I haven’t gone clubbing in over a year, and haven’t drank in even longer, but if I decide one night that I want to go out, dress like a slut, get trashed, and then broadcast it via facebook, I want the freedom to know I can with zero familial consequences.

4.  I don’t talk to my relatives much.  Never have.  We see each other once or twice a year at the holidays, and it works for us.  Why change a good system? lol

It’s one thing if the person is like EK’s mom, who’s cool, but it’s another if there’s more of a generational gap and the fact that you’re friends with them causes you to alter your behavior or limit your usage.  Facebook was designed to be a social networking site for college students and recent college graduates.  It was never meant to be a virtual family reunion.  Let’s keep it that way.

One Response to “Say no to family on facebook!”

  1. kive87 Says:

    hahaha my bro won’t accept any family members not in his generation even though nothing happens on his fb…my mom uses fb to check that I’m still alive at 3 am when I go out and update my status


Leave a Reply

