Update on Em–Part 1

I really need to start thinking of more creative titles for this little series on my  sometimes bff…..oh well….Btw, this is long, so don’t say I didn’t warn you.

So,  I didn’t contact Em before her party on Wednesday to tell her that I would be over an hour late, if I showed up at all.  I told Kim, who was also going, but that was it.  When I got there, of course I had to socialize with Em, but I spent most of the time talking to Kim, or even to Em’s mom, Susie, who likes to call me her “second daughter.”  Yeah…..I’m thrilled with that…..

Well, Em didn’t say anything, and after I left, I decided I was not going to contact her.  She finally called me on Monday.  I usually call back right away, but this time she had to wait until Tuesday for my reply.  She was all hesitant and quiet on the phone, like she knew something was up, but wasn’t sure what.  We decided to hang out Tuesday night after little sis went to bed.  I went over, and somehow politics and business came up.  I don’t know how, I don’t know why, and I wish it hadn’t because Em is just like JChin with stuff like that, whereas I am the complete opposite.

Even though she’s been my close friend since 6th grade, apparently she didn’t know how cold-hearted I am when it comes to things that don’t affect me.  I am literally almost incapable of feeling sympathy or pity for people I don’t know.  I’ve tried, I just can’t do it.

For example, there are millions and millions of people living without clean water, food, or a sense of security–things I take for granted every single day.  And I don’t really feel moved to do anything to change that, as horrible as it sounds.  I mean, yes I would like the world to be perfect, but it’s not and never will be, and I don’t see it as our place to try to influence the rest of the world to our way of thinking and change their governments and societies to what we think would be better.  We tried that in Iraq.  We are now pulling out of a country on the brink of civil war.  Yeah….that was successful.

I know my view isn’t popular, and it certainly isn’t the one you want to portray if you’re a politician or something, but the way I see it, if people in a country want change, they need to do something to make it happen. Revolutions have changed the world in the past, and they’ll do so again in the future, but it’s up to those who will benefit the most from the change to take action.  Things just get messier and more “political” when established world powers get involved.

Look, I’ll readily admit I’m cold-hearted, and feel no shame in that, but I know other people look down on me for it.  Oh well.  You have to be cold-hearted to be successful in the corporate world, and honestly, success means more to me than “moral righteousness.”  Besides, tree-huggers and equal-world-supporters are rarely the ones who actually get things done.

To be continued….

Leave a Reply

