Bye, bye Facebook

Well, I’ve been without Facebook for almost 24 hours now, and I’ve barely noticed it’s gone.  I guess I started this over winter break at home, when I barely went on the computer.  It’s much easier to ease things like this out of your life than do it cold turkey, after all.

My main beef with Facebook is simply that it got boring.  I’m not the type to play Farmville, Mafia Wars, or stuff like that, and after a while, seeing the status updates of people you rarely, if ever, speak to in real life gets old.  The people I want to talk to, I still will.  It’ll be harder to see any pics–though they could email them to me–and statuses are good conversation starters, but we found a way to stay close before Facebook, and that won’t change now.

Another downside is that I won’t have a mechanism automatically reminding me about friends’ birthdays, but, then again, I know the birthdays of the friends I care about.  If I don’t know your birthday–give or take a few days, depending on how many years I’ve known you–I probably honestly don’t care that much about you, so why pretend I do?

I’m not sure how long this deactivation will last, but as of right now, I don’t miss it at all.  I only started to type it into my browser once or twice, and only because of muscle memory.  Check back in a couple weeks though, and we’ll see if I still feel the same. 😉

Leave a Reply

