Haiti

Everyone knows that a horrible earthquake shattered the nation of Haiti last week, killing tens of thousands of people, maybe even hundreds of thousands. Haiti is a notoriously poor nation, and many of the structures wouldn’t have held up under a 3.0 magnitude earthquake, let alone a 7.0 one.  So when this tragedy struck, nations from around the world rushed to help.  Not only did the governments help, but the individual people donated as well (fyi-if you haven’t already, I strongly recommend you text ‘haiti’ to 90999 to donate $10 to the Red Cross’s efforts).  And how has this outpouring of help been received?  Rather ungratefully, to tell the truth.

Oh, I’m sure that many people are glad for any help, and I understand that these people are traumatized and have lost everything, so I’ll cut them a little slack for that, but there are so many stories about Haitians complaining that they’re not getting enough help and the world is not trying hard enough.  I understand the anger at their own government for delaying the arrival of supplies, but why the anger at the world?  What happened was a tragedy, and we’re helping because we’re human and it’s the right thing to do, but we’re not under any obligation to help, so you should take what you can get and be thankful.  I’m sorry that your infrastructure is slowing things down, but how does piling dead bodies across the road speed things along?  And those machete-wielding gangs aren’t exactly helping either.

I’m sure I sound heartless.  After all, these people are homeless, starving, and traumatized, but we’re doing what we can.  It’s not like I wish I could take back the money I donated, but I’d be more likely to donate more if I felt it was appreciated, instead of cursed for not getting there faster.

Leave a Reply

