Going green

Fact: I am addicted to tea. Fact: through tea I used to drink almost 1/3 of my daily recommended calories thanks to the sugar I put in it. Fact: detoxing from such a sugar addiction is no fun at all 😦

I started my detox by cutting the spoons if sugar I put in my huge mug of black tea from 6 to 3 cold turkey. No weaning myself off. It was disgusting, but I forced myself to like it. It took a few weeks, but just when it finally tasted sweet again, I found some research showing that putting milk in your tea can really reduce the health benefits. The experts are mixed, but there’s more evidence to support the claim than oppose it. But rather than stop putting milk in my tea altogether, I decided to drink one or two cups of black tea with milk and two sugars, and two cups of plain green tea per day.

For those who’ve never had it, green tea is very bitter, which is absolutely horrible for those of us who like things sweet as can be. It took about two weeks for me to be able to drink it without gagging, and I’m still trying to force myself to like it, but I just keep telling myself it’ll all be worth it in the end….

Posted in Uncategorized. Tags: , . 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Going green”

  1. kive87 Says:

    I’m not understanding your masochism here. Try spearemint green tea, Russian earl grey, and English breakfast tea. You won’t need milk and you won’t need more than 3 sugars and it’ll be sweet enough. PS the smell of spearemint green tea is ah-mazing. Also I’m sure you do this already but use brown sugar instead of white, it’s a lot better for you.

    • AD Says:

      Yeah….I don’t really understand my masochism either…. but I’m still gonna do it 😉 The mandarin orange green tea isn’t too bad, but it’s def an acquired taste.


Leave a Reply

