Lips are sealed

Tempers are running high at work because we have so many apps to get back and less than ten business days to do so.  Why are we so overwhelmed?  Because of LJB’s hiring practices.

He’s mentioned to me three times in the past two weeks that “when you hire someone, you adopt their families, their boyfriends, their problems, their school, etc,” and that’s why he doesn’t fire LQ or SJ or Peterson or Kerbins.  I think that’s bull.  When you hire someone, you hire them to do a job.  If they never show up or are incapable of doing that job, you fire them.  It’s pretty black and white.

Today I noticed that we had a bunch of financials we hadn’t even started to call on, so I suggested that we have the messengers call, because they spend a lot of time just wandering around waiting for something to do.  He was like “maybe when you run a business, you’ll realize that you’re going to have lots of people who are good for nothing, and only a few who can do stuff.  The messengers can’t call, the new guy can’t call, and SQ isn’t good at calling.  LQ isn’t good either, even when she shows up.  So it’s you and Jel who have to call.”

That pissed me off because: 1) Don’t snap at me when I’m making a reasonable suggestion.  Yes, you’re the boss.  Yes, you have the final decision.  No, you don’t have to do what I suggest, but don’t yell at me for saying something;  2) Don’t try to make me feel sorry for you.  I don’t.  You’re the one who chooses to hire these losers and refuses to fire them because you’re too lazy to do interviews, and then takes it out on everyone else and takes advantage of those of us who are capable of doing work; 3)  Jel and I can’t physically call everyone as much as they need to be called, especially when I’m doing what I did last year and what Smith did and a few extra things.  There just aren’t enough hours of the day, and you don’t pay me enough to take charge of that much.

Speaking of the work I do, they’re going to be screwed when I leave.  Not because what I do is so technical or skilled that no one else can do it—copying, clipping, comps, organizing, calling, it’s all monkey work—but because no one else is trained how to do it.  And he won’t let me train anyone.  I mean, he had me show Jel how to copy for a couple minutes, but doesn’t want to let her do it until next year, but she’s going to forget by then, so a fat lot of good that does. It’ll be interesting to see how they fare….maybe by December LJB will realize that I’m not kidding when I say that I’m leaving and not coming back.

In the meantime, I’m stuck here until at least June because I have two vacas planned and don’t want to have to deal with time off at a new job.  But one major thing is going to change.  In the past, I’ve always made suggestions of how to do things better, more efficiently, and most of the time they at least listen, if not act on it.  Lately, though, they just snap if anyone tries to tell them anything, so I’ve decided to hold my peace.  If they want to do things inefficiently, and potentially lose money while doing it, that’s their problem.  My lips are sealed because I frankly don’t care anymore.

Posted in Uncategorized. Tags: . 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Lips are sealed”

  1. kive87 Says:

    I think that was the main thing that bothered me. They expect you to know how to do something but god forbid anyone is either allowed or has time to train you. Eveytime JC tried to teach me something she was either yelled at or interrupted every 5 seconds.

  2. AC Says:

    I have the same problem. Larry hates me so much he would rather have someone else do work than actually ask me to do anything. Then he complains about my internet usage. If they only knew I act out to get attention. But what’s the point he doesn’t give a damn and neither will I.


Leave a Reply

