Self-awareness

The topic of self-awareness came up in my management class this morning.  Self-awareness is just what it sounds like: being aware of yourself.  Knowing who you are, what you want, what you feel, what your strengths and weaknesses are, etc.  I like to think that I am highly self-aware, and find it hard to see how many people aren’t.  I mean, what’s the point of lying to yourself?  You know what you do, and you know why you do it, so that should tell you plenty about your personality and temperament.  Trying to pretend you’re someone you’re not is just stupid and pointless, and bound to backfire in the end.  Take me for example:

My main strengths:

1.  I’m dedicated and a hard worker….when there’s something in it for me.  Hell yeah I’ll help increase the profitability of your company, so long as you give me a bonus and/or promotion when I go above and beyond.

2.  Going along with #1, I know exactly what I want and always have a plan to get it.  Failure is not an option, and there’s always a plan B.

3.  Emotional control….at least on the outside.  I can be completely pissed or completely depressed, and if I choose to hide it, no one will ever know.  At LJB I often let my temper show, because I don’t care anymore, but like I said, if I wanted to I could give the appearance of the happiest, most satisfied worker ever.

4.  I’m intelligent and I know it.  I’m sure that sounds egoistic to some people, but I am, so why lie about it?  I don’t openly flaunt it in the workplace, because I know that would breed resentment, but that doesn’t change the fact that my brain is quite capable.

My main weaknesses:

1.  My temper.  Though I can choose to hide it, it would be better if I got it under control and didn’t let things get to me.  I partially blame the City.  I was way more mellow before I moved here.  I also need to find a way to stop tearing up whenever I get frustrated or really pissed off.  Tears in the workplace are a weakness, and I want none of those.

2.  I’m not creative.  I mean, give me a job and I’ll find ways to do it better, and weighing financial or acquisition decisions is fine, but ask me to come up with a slogan or create a brand new product, and I’m lost.  It’s just not my thing.

3.  I’m not exactly a people person, yet networking is critical for my future success once I start my career.  I haven’t had much experience at it, but practice makes perfect and it’s something I need to force myself to do.  At least contacts will have something to offer, so that should make it easier.

4.  I have a superiority complex that stems from strength #4.  I often feel that I’m surrounded by idiots, and even if that’s true, I need to get over that feeling so I can work with them more effectively.

I’m sure if I sat here I could come up with many more strengths and several more weaknesses, but you get the gist.  The point is that if you want to succeed in life, you need to be honest with yourself.  You’re not helping anything by pretending that you’re an outgoing hard worker when you’re really a shy wallflower who would rather not be noticed.  Sooner or later, you’ll be found out, because it’s hard to pretend 24-7-365.

7 Responses to “Self-awareness”

  1. kive87 Says:

    I’m really a cat…
    How about them apples?

  2. AC Says:

    I’m aware of my weaknesses but I’m not really aware of my strengths. The only strength I know I have is that I’m smart, but I don’t think I’m really smart, I just think that, relatively speaking, I am. I wonder how you can become self-aware of your strengths…?

    • AD Says:

      It’s seems completely foreign to me not to know your strengths. I mean, how can you not know what you’re good at, when you’ve been with yourself 24-7 for over 25 years?

  3. kive87 Says:

    You’re good at being a cat Ana!

  4. AC Says:

    lol I am far from catty Ms. Kive loooool!

    well it’s hard to know if I have any strengths when I’m always being yelled at or told how much I screw up 😦

  5. kive87 Says:

    I didn’t say catty I said cat like the animal!

    Dude this is America where are your entitlement issues?!?! Besides I think you know them deep inside, think about things you actually like to do and take it from there.


Leave a Reply

