Show me the money

So, I’ve wanted to ask for a raise for a while now, and I started seriously thinking about it this week, but once I started seriously thinking about it, I realized I had very little ammo….

See, in my mind, I haven’t really done anything but my job.  Last year I was way more proactive–going above and beyond, you know.  Coming in after class during busy season and staying until 10-11pm almost every day for the last two weeks.  This year….not so much.  I got sick of being taken advantage of, so I started having a little attitude problem (which I could control when I wanted to, but which I often didn’t hide) and refused to come in after class (which didn’t end until 8:50pm anyway!) or stay too long past the scheduled time on the Saturdays.  I mean, I guess the fact that I showed up on Saturdays when no other part timers did is something, but LJB would just say that I got paid hourly for that, so it doesn’t deserve a raise.  And while showing up during the week is also rare for many part timers, I don’t really see that as going beyond my job description…..

I’ll probably ask anyway–what have I got to lose, after all–but it’s definitely going to take a little more thought to decide how to spin this my way.  I know I deserve a raise, and I think he does too, but he’s Jewish and therefore extremely cheap, so convincing him is going to be a bit of a challenge.  It doesn’t help that I still feel extreme aversion towards working anywhere near him…..

Posted in Uncategorized. Tags: , . 1 Comment »

One Response to “Show me the money”

  1. kive87 Says:

    Actually it’s not that bad, he gave me my first one on his own then a few months after I asked him for my second one and he gave it to me without an issue. Since I did bare minimum I’m sure you’ll be just fine lol


Leave a Reply

