Close Call

One of my bffs, K, turned 21 today.  She got to celebrate two days early by getting into a car accident after being a good sister and taking her brother to his college after Easter Break.  See, it was pouring down rain that night, and as she tried to pass a semi on the highway, the water spraying up from its tires made it hard for her to see the pool of standing water in front of her.  So she hydroplaned, hit the median, bounced off, hit the middle of the semi, spun out, hit the back of the semi, spun out some more, and ended up in the ditch.  The above is her car.

This scared the crap out of me. I mean, it’s always scary when someone you know is in an accident, but this one easily could have been so much worse. I’m just glad she’s okay, but this is why I drive like a grandma according to my mother (though I think she drives like a maniac).  I usually don’t go more than 5 above the speed limit, and in bad weather I’m super careful, especially when going down a high-speed road like a highway.  I probably wouldn’t have even tried to pass the semi, or once I realized that the water from the tires was impairing my vision, I would have stopped.  I know it’s inevitable that I’ll get into an accident some day, but I’m looking to put off that day as long as possible and minimize the damage if I can.  The thought of having my car end up like K’s (or worse) really freaks me out 😦

2 Responses to “Close Call”

  1. kive87 Says:

    Oh my goood! How the hell are they ok??


Leave a Reply

