Oh mother….

I can’t talk to my mom about relationships.  I really can’t.  She got knocked up at 16, and married at 18 after dating my dad since she was 14 or 15.  So she doesn’t understand why I had no interest in dating during high school.  Meaning that she really doesn’t understand why I have so little interest while in college.  I’ve tried to explain to her that in high school, I knew I was moving to NY, and I don’t do long distance, so why bother?  And I did date a little during my first two years of college, before I decided I was moving back home and decided to stop putting forth an effort for that reason.  If it happens, if happens, but I’m not going to actively go out and try to get a date like I used to.  My mom’s response was that I “might be able to find someone who would come back to IL with me.”  Ummm not likely…..

Then I tried to explain to her that I don’t need a bf or husband.  I would like to get married (preferably before age 30) but if I don’t, I don’t.  I won’t be devastated.  My mom’s convinced that lots of people feel that way (judging from the girls at her work), and then regret it when they can’t find anyone because the best time to find someone your age and single is in high school or college.  While that may be true, that doesn’t mean it’s the only place to find someone, and anyway, I’m too young to be tied down right now.  I’m sure I’ll meet people back in STL through friends and work, and I’ll even use online dating if I get really desperate (def not planning on it, but it could happen….).

It’s just sooo frustrating because there shouldn’t be that huge of a generation gap between us (she’s only 17 years older than I am).  And she’s successful and independent, so it completely catches me off guard when she goes all pro-young relationships.  Idk, maybe times really do change that quickly…..

Leave a Reply

