Sharing

In theory, sharing is good.  It’s one person being generous to others either out of the goodness of their heart, or for something in return.  But what I hate is that sharing has now become expected, rather than a nice thing that some people sometimes choose to do.  For example, I’ve been baking lately and I’ve brought in some of my stuff for some of my coworkers, but not everyone.  This is because baking, while not expensive, is not cheap, so the more I give away, the more it costs me because I get less (I’m all into amortizing costs.  You know, if it costs $20 to make 30 cupcakes and I eat them all, it costs $.66 per cupcake.  But if I give away 10 for free, it costs me $1 for each cupcake I eat.  Don’t judge me, I’m a business student for a reason lol).

The last thing I made was a German Chocolate Cake which had a lot of specialty ingredients I had to buy, took a lot of time, and is three layers, so each slice is equivalent to about 3 cupcakes.  Which means I can only get like 10 servings out of it.  I brought in two slices each for M and EK over the past few days because a) they never bake, so unless EK’s mom made it, she’d never taste anything like this; b) it’s EK’s last week 😦 ; and c) M has brainwashed me and JChin into feeding him whenever we have extra food….don’t ask me how that happened, I don’t even know…..  I also brought in a slice for Jel today simply because she asked, so why not?

Anyway, the problem is that I think some people in the office are annoyed that I didn’t bring anything for them (SJG being #1, since he got all offended that he didn’t get a cupcake a few weeks ago), and that, in turn, annoys me.  I know office etiquette, like school etiquette, says that if you bring in food for some, you should bring it in for all.  And I can see how it could be seen as playing favorites, but just because I don’t bring you food that I paid for and I spent time making doesn’t mean I don’t like you.  It just means that I think you could make it yourself, and I’m selfish, which is a perfectly natural human trait.  My baking is pretty good, imo, so sue me if I want to keep some for myself.

One Response to “Sharing”

  1. thenakedlistener Says:

    Jeez, people get upset because of THIS??! If they sue you, I’ll be your lawyer (I’m one, you see).


Leave a Reply

«

