Philly

I meant to write about this sooner, but I took a day trip to Philly back on November 20th.  It was really spur of the moment, which is not like me at all.  I literally decided at 9:30pm Friday night that I was going to take the 7am bus to Philly.  I don’t know why I wanted to go; I’ve just been restless lately.  I’m going to Boston next Saturday and thought about moving the trip up, but decided I’d rather go to Boston during the Christmas season.  I’m a sucker for Christmas decorations 🙂

Philly wasn’t bad. The weather was nice and the people were friendly, but there wasn’t that much to do.  I saw the Liberty Bell and some other famous sites nearby relating to the founding of this country, then walked around Old Philly for a while.  I loved the colonial style houses.  My favorite place was Elfreth’s Alley–the oldest residential street in the country (pictured above).  It was just so quaint and pretty.

I also walked around the South Street area, had an authentic Philly cheesesteak for lunch, then went up one of the main roads to this French-inspired square where I saw the Ghostbusters, then walked up to the park around the Philadelphia Museum of Art.  This was my second favorite spot.  The outside of the museum and the park around it were absolutely gorgeous.  I ended the trip with a stroll around Chinatown before heading back to the bus station.  Overall, I’m glad I went, but it’s not somewhere I need to go again.

Leave a Reply

