Things to do, places to go

For the past couple months, I’ve been trying to go somewhere new every weekend.  I think it just hit me that in two and a half weeks, I won’t live up here anymore.  Obviously I can still explore new places when I visit a couple times a year, but it’s never going to be easier than it is now.  I always mean to blog after I go, but I never do……I want to make sure I don’t forget these places, though, so better late than never, right?

 

1.  Grant’s Tomb & Morningside Park:

I’d heard about this place a few times, but never felt the need to go until I was actively looking for new places. The area was really nice (it is right by Columbia University after all), and the tomb itself was a very pretty marble building.  My favorite part was the park, which runs right alongside the Hudson.

 

2. Green Wood Cemetery

I know what you’re thinking.  A cemetery?  Who in their right mind goes to a cemetery? A bored person, that’s who.  I was looking for new places in Brooklyn and this place kept coming up as a great place to take a walk.  I was skeptical, but went anyway (in no small part because Marc told me not to…..) and was impressed.  The place is just like a big park with great views of Manhattan and the Statue of Liberty.  Many of the graves were over the top, and it’s interesting (for me, anyway) to try to imagine who these people were.  Many of them lived in the 1800s or early 1900s; some lived 90+ years, others died much too young.  The only really creepy part was when I came to the area with the newer graves.  For some reason, it’s much more spooky to walk by a six-month old headstone than it is to walk by a 160 year old one….

 

3.  Northern Central Park

I’d actually never been to the very northern part of Central Park before, but decided to check it out because I heard that the North Woods were like the ramble, but less full of tourists.  Couldn’t have been a truer description.  I was like a kid in a candy store; all these new trails to explore, new arches and streams and bridges, and no one around.  It.  Was.  Amazing.

Leave a Reply

