Vacation

I just got back about an hour ago from my family’s Disney World vacation.  It’s the third time we’ve gone, and it wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t as good as the other times.  See, the first time I was like fourteen or fifteen and had never gone before, so it had that whole new-ness excitement thing going for it.  The second time, my family paid for my friend to come along, and we spent most of the trip off on our own doing whatever we wanted to do.  This time it was just me and the family, and it was the most crowded time of the year. I still had fun, but it was kind of a bummer that we could only do the kinds of rides I liked once because the lines were so long and they ran out of fast passes super early.  My favorite part was the World Showcase in Epcot, though, which doesn’t require waiting in line at all.

 

This trip hammered home two very important lessons: 1) I haven’t lived at home consistently and been an active part of this family for so long that it’s both weird and annoying to try to act like nothing’s changed, and 2) I am soooooo not a kid person.  Even my two youngest sibs were constantly getting on my nerves (because they’re spoiled brats, I hate to say! They could be much worse, but they get away with wayyyyy more than I ever did!).

 

But back to point one: the whole, not feeling completely at home while at home thing.  On the surface, nothing has changed.  My room looks exactly the same.  Everyone has the same responsibilities.  My family still has their same old habits.  But…..I’m so used to being on my own and not answering to anyone that I get really annoyed when my parents try to treat me like I’m a teenager again, or when they use me to do things they could do if they weren’t so lazy (like look things up on my iPhone or text someone so they don’t have to walk two feet to the computer).  Idk, the little things just add up, and I can’t wait to get a place of my own so I don’t have to deal with it anymore.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my family, but I’ve changed over the past two years, even if they haven’t, so I need things at home to change along with me.

Leave a Reply

