Brief Return

As I’ve mentioned before, I am one of the few people who’s not always on facebook.  I deactivated it back in January 2010 and, aside from reactivating it for five minutes every couple of months to check up on some people, I haven’t looked back.  Until yesterday afternoon, that is…..

I blame the boredom associated with my job search, but I decided to reactivate facebook for a while.  I updated my profile, changed my picture, and added a couple of good friends I’d made during my year without facebook.  I wasn’t enthralled by it again like some people are, but figured that I didn’t have to go on it everyday; I could just have it so people could get into contact with me and I would have something to do when I was bored.  But then I woke up this morning with some buyers remorse.  See, some people deactivate because they spend to much time on it or things like that. I deactivated because I got bored with it, and started to actually not like it at all.  There was too much drama between friends of mine, and soooo much information overload.  I don’t need to know everything about everyone I’m remotely connected to, after all.  So, after my two friends accepted the requests, I deactivated again.  Yes, yes, I know, I’m bipolar 😉

Idk.  Even though facebook is hands down the best way to keep in contact with people, I just can’t get over not liking it anymore.  Sure, I learn a lot of things through facebook, such as:

1.  My ex-manager and friend had a second child when I didn’t even know his wife was pregnant;

2. A fellow student from my Russian trip is now engaged to one of the Instructor’s aids; and

3.  Various other relationship/engagement/marriage news.

And while it is nice to know all of that real time, I figure the most important stuff will find its way back to me via mutual friends, or I’ll see it during my once a month log-ins.  I don’t need to be connected every second of every day.  In fact, I really don’t want to be.

Leave a Reply

