Strange Things

After reading the book about Pixar, mentioned in my previous post, I got this overwhelming urge to watch Toy Story again for the first time in years.  I found it online in Russian and decided to kill two birds with one stone.  I would get to watch my beloved childhood movie while simultaneously increasing my exposure to spoken Russian–something I’d been meaning to do for a while.  It was….an interesting experience.  On the plus side, I understood much more dialogue than I thought I would (it helped that I know the story pretty well and therefore knew basically what to listen for).  On the not so positive side, it was just not the same without Tom Hanks as Woody and Tim Allen as Buzz. It wasn’t even like I could pretend it was those two speaking Russian, because the voices were way off.  And the lyrics to some of the songs were completely different.  But, at least it was better than when I watched tv in St. Petersburg and you could hear the English underneath the Russian dub…..

Right now, I just finished watching the first part of Titanic in Russian.  Also tres weird.  I understand less of it than I did of Toy Story–understandable, considering it’s targeted for adult audiences whereas Toy Story is for all ages–but it’s just a litte creepy to hear different voices coming from Kate Winslet and Leonardo DiCaprio.  And some of the wittier lines just did not translate that well.  Sigh.  But, hey, you can’t have everything.  I should count myself lucky that I wasn’t trying to learn Russian ten or fifteen years ago, when the thought of accessing English movies dubbed into Russian online (for free, no less) would have practically been sci-fi 🙂

Leave a Reply

