Happy Mother’s Day!

I didn’t realize it at first, but today was the first Mother’s Day that I’ve been home in three or four years.  I’d completely forgotten that the family has an annual tradition of going to Cracker Barrel to celebrate (it’s literally the only time we ever go; don’t ask me how it got started, I don’t even know).  The food was decent and it was nice to spend some time with my mom’s side of the family, plus my dad’s mom.  My mom is super easy to buy for, because she tells me exactly what she wants, but I randomly decided that I wanted to surprise her with something (because giving gifts is no fun if you know the other person knows what it is), so I whipped up some gigantic sugar cookies and colored icing and the kids and I decorated.  I had fun, the kids had a blast, she loved them, and she totally wasn’t expecting it, which made it even better.  🙂

Hope everyone else is having a great Mother’s Day too!

Leave a Reply

