Losing my identity

Okay, I’ll admit that the title’s just a little dramatic, but it’s not completely incorrect.  Today was my only non-holiday day off this week (I went in yesterday to make up for Memorial Day since we were told we didn’t get paid for holidays for the first 3 months….only to find out that we did so I went in for nothing….well, overtime isn’t nothing, but I didn’t have to….but, I digress…), so I decided this morning to take care of some of the little loose ends moving creates which I hadn’t dealt with yet.  Namely, my car and my driver’s license.  At 7:30 this morning, I had IL plates and an IL license and was registered to vote in IL.  Two hours later….I wasn’t.

 

I was born and raised in IL.  Even when living in NY for the better part of 3.5 years I never gave up that identity.  I convinced my school that I had become a NY resident, but officially I never did.  I love IL.  Have always been proud of being from there. Yeah, it’s mostly corn and soybean fields, which makes for ultra boring landscapes, but it’s my home.  Well, was my home. Now I have a new home.  And new drivers license.  And new license plates. And new voter registration.  The AD who lived in IL doesn’t really exist anymore in government computers.  And that is just too weird for words.

 

PS: This feeling probably has more than a little to do with the fact that Missouri is seen as kind of backwards by IL people.  The part I’m living in is really nice and looks just like the city I moved out of, but I’ve had this prejudice in the back of my mind for as long as I remember and now I have to get over it because I’m one of them……And my subconscious has decided that the best way to get over it is to segment Missouri into “Parts which could be in Illinois” and “Backwards parts which are most definitely Missourian” lol

2 Responses to “Losing my identity”

  1. kive87 Says:

    wait…you live in Missouri? Missouri is next to Illinois? I’m so confused.

    • AD Says:

      Lol yes, I do. In Illinois I lived about 20 min from St. Louis, which is in Missouri. Now I still live about 20min away from St. Louis, but in the opposite direction.

      Now…email me the password for your post. Please and thank you 🙂


Leave a Reply

