New York I Love You

Recently I decided to finally watch two films which have popped up on my radar several times in the past few years: Paris, Je’taime, and New York, I Love You.  These are the first (and so far only) two movies in a series about cities and love.  They’re both made up of more than a dozen ten minute love stories and are really only connected by the city they take place in (though NY does try to incorporate a reoccurring videographer).  Given their similarities, you’d think that if you liked one, you’d like them both.  Not so….

I didn’t even make it all the way through Paris.  I think I stopped a little over half way because I just wasn’t into it.  I don’t know if it was because it was in French and I got tired of the subtitles or because I wasn’t really connecting with the stories, but it was not my cup of tea.  Despite this, I decided to give NY a shot, even though it was the exact same concept.  And I loved it.

I’m sure part of it has to do with me missing the city, and it being in English didn’t hurt, but I just felt like the stories were simply…better.  Obviously the character development leaves a bit to be desired — because how much can you really develop characters in 10 minutes?– but there are some that you just connect with from the very beginning. My favorite was the last segment, with Eli Wallach.  He’s hilarious 😀

 

PS:  As I was writing this, NY voted to legalize gay marriage.  NY, I love you.  And it’s about time.  Now, let’s get the rest of the nation on board 🙂

2 Responses to “New York I Love You”

  1. kive87 Says:

    I had the exact opposite reaction! I loved Paris Je T’aime!!! I thought NY I love you was just blah and disappointing, I could’ve came up with better 10 minute stories fro my own personal life. Thought it failed to capture the glamor and grit. I think the reason you didn’t like the Paris one is because I think it requires people to know some things about Parisian culture – like the racism and other issues that the stories subtly dealt with.


Leave a Reply

