Bucket List

If you’ve never watched the movie The Bucket List, you’re missing out.  I bought it on sale at Borders a couple weeks ago because I remembered how much I had loved it in the theaters.  I’d forgotten that it was one of those movies that’s both uplifting and gut-wrenchingly depressing at the same time, but that’s beside the point….. Anyway, a Bucket List is a list of things you want to accomplish before you, well, kick the bucket.  They can be lifelong goals or specific experiences, whatever suits your fancy.

 

I’ve had one in my head for a while, but I decided to finally write it down on paper (electronic paper, anyway).  I divided it into three categories: Non-Negotiables, Dreams, and Wishes, in order of their importance to me.  Non-negotiable is pretty self- explanatory.  Dreams are the things I would really, really, really love to do, but aren’t quite up there with the non-negotiables.  And Wishes are things I’d really, really like to do, if I live long enough to do so 🙂  Within the lists, they’re in no particular order, just the order they came to me in.  With luck, I’ll be able to accomplish all these and even more.

Non-Negotiables                                   

1. Live abroad for at least one year

2.  Become fluent in Russian

3. Get my MBA

4.  Stay close to my family, no matter where I am

5.  Stay fit and healthy

6.  Never change for anyone

7.  Travel to:

Japan

China

England

Egypt

Kenya, for a safari 🙂

8.  Never stop reading for pleasure

9.  Live my life with no regrets

10.  Never keep a job I hate longer than I have to

11.  Ride the Trans-Siberian RR to Lake Baikal

Dreams

1.  Fall in love

2.  Travel to:

India

Australia

New Zealand

Antarctica

Italy (and see the ruins of   ancient Rome)

Sweden/Norway/ Denmark

Ukraine

Istanbul, Turkey

Bali

Tibet

France

Ireland/Scotland

Hawaii

Greece

3.  Be able to retire, if I want to

4.  Speak Japanese fluently and read it as fluently as a non-native speaker can

5.  Write a book, even if I’m the only one who ever reads it.

Wishes

1.  Learn to play the guitar that’s been sitting in my closet since high school

2.  Get married

3.  Go skydiving/surfing/scuba diving

4.  See the Northern Lights

5. Travel to:

Anywhere in Europe, East/SE Asia, or North America that I haven’t already mentioned

Back to Russia

South and Latin America

6.  Have a risqué photo shoot done, preferably while I’m still young 😉

I’m sure there are things I’ve forgotten and things I will add along the way as I get older and “wiser.”  But for now, these should be plenty to keep me busy 🙂

Leave a Reply

