Pounding the pavement

For a reason even I have yet to discern, I decided that I wanted to incorporate running into my workout regime.  So at 6:40 in the morning, after a nice breakfast, I hopped in my car and drove about twelve minutes to Creve Coeur park.  The trail around the lake is both scenic and mostly flat, so I figured it would be the perfect place to kick-start my new routine.  I must say, I did better than I thought I would.  I do work out every day, but jogging/running is much different than doing Zumba or Yoga in the comfort of my own home.  It takes me a little over an hour to power walk around the lake.  With my combo of jogging (I’d feel bad if I called it running because even though I was going a respectable pace, I certainly wasn’t running) and recovery power-walking, I made it in about 40 minutes.  Not bad for someone who’s never jogged before. Ever.  I wouldn’t say this is my new favorite workout, but I’m definitely going to try to go out there 2-3 mornings a week and keep training until I don’t need recovery walks to make it around the 4.1ish mile trail.

Leave a Reply

