Relative

It’s amazing how relative distance is.  When I lived in NY, I would see my family and STL-based friends twice a year.  Now that I live here, I see them every couple of weeks.  But now Emily is moving to Champaign-Urbana, which is about a 3 hour drive away, and I’m going to go right back to seeing her a couple times a year, even though a three hour drive is much closer than a three hour flight.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m soooo happy for her that she got a part-time job as a French teacher, but it’s kind of a bummer that she has to move away to pursue her dream.  Since it’s only part-time she’s going to try to find another job to make ends meet, but even if she does, she’s not going to have a lot of extra money for trips back home, and my schedule doesn’t exactly allow for weekend trips up to see her.

 

I know I’m being a complete hypocrite.  I moved to NY for undergrad and will move either to Chicago, San Francisco, or back to NY for grad school. But it’s so much easier to do the leaving than to be the one left behind….

Leave a Reply

