Day Trip

Yesterday I took a trip up to Champaign to see Emily and her new apartment.  She moved up there in September for a teaching job, and this is the first chance I’ve had to visit.  I left just after noon for the horribly boring 3 hour drive through endless cornfields.  I happened to get there just as she got home from work and we hung out for about an hour before heading to the library to rent a movie (side note: my job has made it impossible to me to be a passenger in a car…. Emily’s windshield wipers are broken and it was raining so she volunteered to drive us in my car.  In an 8 minute drive we almost got into 3 or 4 accidents.  I took over after that….).  For dinner we went to a Korean BBQ place and I had a tofu taco which consists of tofu, sweet and sour sauce, and several green leafy things.  I’d never had tofu before and I’m not a huge fan of spicy  food, but it was actually really good.  After dinner we wandered through some stores before going back to her apartment and watching Eat, Pray, Love.  This morning we had breakfast at Panera and then went our separate ways – her to work and me home.  Not a long or eventful vacation, but a pleasant interlude none-the-less 🙂

Leave a Reply

