Happy Thanksgiving!

Hope everyone had a great time and great food today 🙂  Thanksgiving was kind of a two day affair for me this year.  It started yesterday when I picked up Jacob and Sydney for a sleepover. We hit the Science Center, had lunch at McDonald’s (with a playplace, of course), snuck drinks and candy into Arthur Christmas (it was a cute movie, but nothing spectacular or must-see, imho), played an 18-hole round of glow in the dark putt-putt golf, then headed back to my apartment so they could watch some movies and relax while I made the pie crust which had to chill overnight.  Kids are a lot of work and require constant entertainment (easier said than done when you don’t have a house full of toys), but we had an awesome time.

I woke up early today to finish up the pie and make two kinds of sweet potato casserole. It was the first time I’d ever made a pie (surprising, given how much I love baking) and I was a bit nervous about the homemade crust, but it turned out awesome (see picture—I forgot to take a pic of the sweet potato casserole (which was also a first)–both kinds of which were also delicious). After a couple hours of baking I loaded up the kids and headed home to help mom clean the house and prep some more of the food (we always host my mom’s side of the family at Thanksgiving, though over the past few years it’s dwindled down to just my family, my grandparents, my great-grandpa, and my Uncle Mark, Aunt Jean, and their two kids.  Thirteen people may seem like a lot, but when we’re all together at Christmas it’s more like 20).  The meal was delish.  I had turkey, green beans (with onion and bacon), stuffing, cranberry sauce, a little of each sweet potato casserole, some miniature hot-dog thingys, and a croissant.  For dessert I had a small piece of pumpkin pie and a small piece of apple pie, because it was just impossible to choose between the two and, as my sister so succinctly informed me, “It’s Thanksgiving, on Thanksgiving, you eat pie.”  Truer words have never been spoken.

After everyone else left, my mom, my siblings, and I went to go see The Muppets (dad had to work :().  I’ve never been a huge Muppets fan, but the movie was very entertaining and I would highly recommend it.  After the movie we dropped by to see my dad and then I dropped them off and headed home.  Overall, it was everything I could ask for for Thanksgiving.

And now, as per the usual, I’ll end this post with a list of things I’m thankful for:

I’m Thankful….

….as always, for my family,  They may not be perfect (I’m looking at you, Albert….), but they’re mine and I love them to pieces.

….for my friends.  Same reason 🙂

….for the internet.  Not only does it make daily life infinitely easier, it allowed me to make the delicious pie and casserole and take some of the load off my mom. 🙂

…for my job (at AAA….not so much the theater) and all the opportunities I have before me.  Yeah, I work hard, but in a market like this you can’t discount a little luck, and I’ve been very fortunate.  My coworkers and I rant a lot, but we all know that we’re the lucky ones.

…that I never have to worry about how much is in the bank.  I’m careful with my money, but when I agonize about a purchase, be it a computer or a jar of peanut butter, that’s my inner Scrooge taking over, and has nothing to do with what I can actually afford. I work hard to keep it that way, but I’m thankful all the same.

…for my health.

…for hockey.  It truly helps keep me sane by giving me an escape.

…for the library.  Without it I’d either be broke or mentally bored and depressed.

…for Starbucks.  Not only for the delicious drinks, but for the fact that it gives me a place I can go to decompress for a few hours each week.  For me, it really is a “Third Place.”

…for chocolate.  And tea 😉

Leave a Reply

