Evaluation

As you can probably guess from my lack of enthusiasm about New Years Eve, I’ve never been big on New Year’s resolutions.  I figure if I want to change something about myself, why wait until New Years to do it?  And why not just do it, instead of promising myself that I’ll do it sometime in the future?  But, New Year’s does provide a good excuse to reevaluate my current life choices, pat myself on the back for the good ones, and maybe think about altering some others….

Physical Health

I have to say, I feel pretty good about this category.  In 2010, thanks mainly to living with roommates in a creaky old house and being busy with work and school, I exercised for 10, maybe 15 minutes a day (not counting the long treks automatically included in my daily routine), and those workouts usually consisted of low-key yoga.  Better than nothing, but not by much.  In 2011 I discovered my mom’s Zumba tapes, found some other fun workouts online, and now exercise 45-60 minutes daily, most of it cardio.  I cut sugar out of my tea and hot chocolate, started drinking loose leaf tea (thank you China Pavilion in Epcot for introducing me), and within the past few months have added two servings of straight vegetables to my daily diet.  I still have a weakness for sweets, but a little indulgence every now and then never hurt anyone, and I refuse to feel guilty about liking chocolate 🙂

Mental Health

Eh, this was both good and bad, but I think I ended on an up-note.  My stress level was through the roof at the beginning of the year by virtue of being unemployed, and a crappy work schedule did not help alleviate it (though the twice-monthly paycheck certainly did).  Sometime in the summer I decided to stop caring so much about work (repeat after me: I work to live, not the other way around) and what other people did/said/thought/etc, and I distanced myself from political discussions because nowadays they’re all tainted with hate from both sides. I have to say, I feel much calmer now 🙂

Relationships

Oy, the romantic part of my life was a big fat failure in 2011 (and 2010, and 2009, and 2008, and….).  I joined okcupid and plentyoffish, went on one date which ended in the most awkward way ever, and everything sort of fizzled out from there.  I deactivated my accounts in the fall and only recently reactivated okcupid, because I really would like to find someone to date.  Success so far?  None.  The dating pool in STL sucks.  Most of the guys who reply are either unattractive, unmotivated slackers, or loaded down with baggage.  I can’t wait until I go to grad school and have a chance to meet single, intelligent, ambitious young guys.  Is it 2014 yet?

 

On the bright side, I rekindled my friendship with my Stony Brook roommate Julie, who I’d had a huge falling out with a few years ago.  Sooo, I guess this category wasn’t a total dud.

Career

Another ‘eh.’  I have a good job with good pay (for an entry level position in STL), with mostly good coworkers and hours that could be worse. My supervisors (both immediate and a bit higher up) recognize that I rock at what I do, so my prospects are good for the next couple of years.  I’m just restless because claims is not my life career choice, and I have to keep reminding myself that management consultants don’t get hired until they are at least in (if not finished with) an MBA program, and the best thing I can do right now is keep doing awesome work, get a promotion and a raise or two, and build some professional connections for those all-important letters of recommendation.

CE

I definitely stepped up the scope of my Russian studies this year, even while cutting back to every other day as I also took up Japanese again.  I’m not sure I’m going to keep studying Japanese after I go there in November, but for most of the year I will, so there’s really not much to change here.

One of my goals for 2011 was to read more books than I did in 2010, and I must say, I succeeded spectacularly.  31 books in 2010…..59 in 2011.  How I love the library.  Now I just have to keep it up….

Leave a Reply

