Good old-fashioned fun

I kept the kids (Syd and Jake) overnight on the 1st since both of my parents had to work and was reminded, yet again, that I am not cut out to be a parent. I picked them up around lunchtime, we went to the mall, played mini-golf, browsed around the toy and book stores, then had dinner at Steak n Shake (a treat for us all…I hadn’t been there for probably over a year).  Then, because I had no intention of paying $30 to sit through Alvin and the Chipmunks 3, we rented Kung Fu Panda 2 and had it on in the background while we played Life, which is one of my all-time favorite games.  The next day we played Monopoly and Uno, and I watched Tangled for the first time (cute movie, definitely prefer Rapunzel to the do-nothing-but-sit-and-wait princesses of old, like Snow White and Sleeping Beauty) before heading home.  I love the kids, but not so much that I’d want my own.  Maybe it’s because I didn’t give birth to them, but I don’t see them through that rosy my-kids-are-perfect lens. They’re kids.  Kids are annoying.  Yeah, they can be cute and say the cutest things, but they’re a ton of work and at times frustrating beyond words.  Of course, I missed them as soon as they were gone, but I think I love them more because I don’t see them 24-7, 365….

Leave a Reply

