Carpe Diem

I haven’t had the time or the energy to blog since I got back from Seattle/Vancouver on Sunday (I’ll do that this weekend), but I couldn’t stop myself from putting up a little blurb today.

It’s easy to forget how fragile life is, and how quick it can be taken away.  On Tuesday I was joking around with my coworker Jim.  We chatted about my vacation and his upcoming one (he was so excited to see his granddaughter, who was coming in from Seattle the following week with his son) and was really looking forward to a few extra days off after they went home.  A little later, me, Jim, and Brian were poking our usual fun at our boss (who was on yet another vacation) and just generally indulging in the usual spirit of camaraderie among the oppressed.  On Wednesday night, Jim had a heart attack and was rushed in for open heart surgery.  He didn’t make it.

It took all day for it to really sink in that I was never going to see/hear him again (he only sat a couple of cubes down, so his voice was fairly constant background noise).  Jim was in his mid-50s and, while we weren’t close friends or anything, we were more than friendly acquaintances.  I can’t imagine what his family’s going through.  Death is hard enough, but a completely unexpected death is even worse.  Today was obviously a somber day (and I’m sure it’ll take a while to get back to normal) but at least I can take a little solace in the fact that my last memory of him is him smiling and laughing, as he always, always was.

 

RIP Jim.

Leave a Reply

