Changes

Things are changing at work…again.  But this time, I think it’s for the better.  I’m getting out of the weekend unit.

It all happened within the space of a week.  On a Tuesday, Shelley randomly asked me if I would be interested in moving over to LHM (aka normal adjuster land).  Of course I said yes.  That Thursday I had an interview with my potential new manager, and by the next Monday a new girl had accepted an offer to be my replacement.  By Wednesday she passed her drug test and everything became final (or, at least, as final as anything ever is at AAA before it actually happens).  I have 2 weeks to train the new girl from knowing absolutely nothing about insurance to being able to handle claims …. all while getting a full claim load myself.  Should be interesting….

 

But the bottom line is that on August 13, if all goes according to plan, I’ll be permanently switching to a M-F schedule.  The 9:30-6 schedule is not the 8-4:30 I expected, but considering that I won’t have to work weekends and holidays, it’s worth it. I’ll miss my coworkers, but Brian’s in the process of interviewing for a new job (he actually got an offer Thursday, but rejected it), and Mark’s getting to that point, so it’s not like I’d get to work with them even if I stayed.  From what I’ve heard, my new manager is just as “ditzy” as my current one and also plays favorites, but I’m used to that.  Anyway, come November I’ll start looking for a new job as well, so what’s a couple months of more of the same, but with a better schedule? (Although being off during the week would make looking for a new job easier…)

Leave a Reply

