I <3 iMovie

If you’ve ever tried the Insanity workout, you know the name is quite appropriate.  I stumbled upon it a few days ago while looking for something to change up my routine.  Not that I dislike my current workouts, but I wanted to push it to the next level.  I’m very picky about my workouts.  I have no problem pushing it to the limit, but I want to have fun while I’m doing it (or at least not be cursing and counting down the milliseconds until it’s over).  Which means I hate drills.  There’s nothing less fun imo than doing the same drills over and over again for the better part of an hour. Which, unfortunately, is what Insanity is.  I stopped 2/3 of the way through the 1st of 10 or 11 distinct workouts.  I’d just done the “warm up” and 1st circuit 3 times each and was about to move on to the 2nd circuit.  But I just couldn’t push myself to do it. I was bored, and that’s the kiss of death when it comes to working out.

 

But even that limited 25-30 minute workout had me sweating and I woke up the next morning knowing that it’d been a damn good session.  Uh oh.  Dilemma.  Do I force myself through a grueling, boring workout in order to feel extra fit the next morning, or do I stick with my tried-and-true routines which don’t give me quite the same morning-after glow anymore? Then again, who said you can’t have the best of both worlds?

 

 

AMAZING!!!

I used iMovie to splice the two workouts together. The result is a 63 minute high-intensity cardio workout during which I complete 2 reps of the “warm-up,” all 3 reps of the 1st interval, and 2 reps of the 2nd interval, plus most of the Tae Bo (the stuff I cut out was mainly rest/recovery periods).  I was able to push myself through Insanity because I knew that at the end of each 3 minute interval I was going to get to do some fun, yet still high-intensity, Tae Bo for several minutes before the next interval.  I was literally dripping during and after the workout.  Gross, but that’s how you know it’s awesome 🙂  Thank goodness for technology!

Leave a Reply

