A Whole New World

Well, I’ve officially made in one week in LHM.  It’s both different and yet exactly the same.

Differences first:

1. It’s sooooo sloooowwwww.  I was used to getting 20-ish claims in 2 days (usually 15-16 on Saturday and the rest on Sunday).  At LHM, we’re expected to take 5 on our busiest days, Monday and Friday, and 4 the other 3 days of the week.  If it’s realllly busy, we might have to take 6 or 7 on Monday.  In other works, less than half of what I was used to doing on a  Saturday.  I suppose if you get a bunch of complicated claims it could occupy your whole day, but this week I had many, many hours of downtime.  How anyone can get behind is beyond me.

2. In my old cubicle I was constantly running into upper management. They’re nowhere to be found in LHM.  Can’t decide if that’s a good or bad thing.

3.  I’m no longer on the very bottom rung of the ladder!  I asked to take the 3rd of 3 training classes all employees are required to take and was given permission immediately.  Contrast this to the fact that this class had been post-poned indefinitely since January while I was on the weekend unit, and we were actually told ‘no’ point-blank when we took the initiative to try to enroll.

Now the similarities:

1. My new manager seems just as ditzy as my old one, but less vindictive, and she basically leaves me alone, which is perfect.

2. They drink the MSI kool-aid too.  Seriously, they should measure performance on something that’s not completely arbitrary.  I also hate the practice of listening and critiquing one or two phone conversations monthly. Once I’m off the phone, I really don’t care what I did or didn’t say.

3.  The job itself is literally the exact same.  In other words, boring.

I do get the feeling that this position is going to be more productive in terms of my outside life, thanks to the hours of downtime.  Here’s what I accomplished Tuesday – Friday (my computer wasn’t set up on Monday, so I spent a good portion of that day shuttling between buildings and doing some extra training with my replacement):

1.  Four mini-practice quizzes and two full-length 85 question practice exams for the ARM 54 (which I took yesterday and passed!  Two more courses and I’ll have my ARM designation!).  The quizzes took 15-20 minutes and the full exams took almost an hour each….

2. First drafts of my three MBA entrance essays.

3. Two online AAA training courses.

4.  Reading a 40 page chapter of ARM 55.

5.  A lot of staring into space while clicking around and attempting to look busy.

Not sure what I’m going to do when I finish my ARM in October…..a lot more staring I suppose 🙂

One Response to “A Whole New World”

  1. kive87 Says:

    Staring into space is lovely.


Leave a Reply

