Sound of silence

I’m sure I’ve commented on this before, but it still surprises me how loud silence can be.  I picked up Syd yesterday for a sleepover. We made sun catchers, did a paint-by-number, and had a movie-with-popcorn-and-candy night. Today we drove over to my great Aunt Carol’s for the family lunch and I spent a few hours hanging out with the rest of my family and some of my cousins. As I was driving out of the subdivision, the silence hit me like a ton of bricks.  True, Syd does require constant attention (which can be trying), but I love her and I love spending time with my family. I guess you know you’re really lucky when you go through a brief period of separation anxiety/homesickness every time you part from your family, even if you just saw them a couple weeks ago and know you’ll see them within the next month 🙂

 

PS:  In other good news, my brother Tyler and I are getting much closer.  He’s moved past the annoying pre-teen years and is now become a fully fledged person with the dry wit typical to our family.  Considering that a few years ago we could barely stand each other, this is progress 😀

Leave a Reply

