Day 6- Nara and Kyoto

Temple/history buffs may be able to make a full day trip out of Nara, but I myself lasted only a few hours.  It was a very pretty city though, and definitely worth a look.

Deer are sacred in Nara.  And they were EVERYWHERE.

Deer are sacred in Nara. And they were EVERYWHERE.

DSC02704 DSC02710 DSC02720 DSC02725

World's Largest Wooden Buddha

World’s Largest Wooden Buddha

DSC02730 DSC02731 DSC02758 DSC02762 IMG_0814

I spent the second half of the day haunting the East Gion section of Kyoto.  I saw my first maiko – 5 of them all together in fact! Before the end of my trip I saw at least a dozen. I know a few were tourists who paid to be dressed up and paraded around (being led by a person with a gigantic professional camera kind of gives it away), but many were the real thing.  This was also the afternoon where I found  a second-hand kimono on sale for 2000 yen at Yasaka Shrine.  Considering that the going rate for a souvenir kimono is anywhere from 3600-7000 yen, I was ecstatic 🙂

Kiyomizudera Temple

Kiyomizudera Temple

DSC02836 DSC02838 DSC02841 DSC02932 DSC02934 DSC02936 DSC02941 DSC02950 DSC02951 DSC02958

Food of the Day:

Curry was big in Japan.  I was surprised.  But deliciously satisfied :)

Curry was big in Japan. I was surprised. But deliciously satisfied 🙂

Chocolate croissant with sweet cream filling.  Not very Japanese.

Chocolate croissant with sweet cream filling. Not very Japanese.

Some kind of yogurt drink.  Sickeningly sweet - I couldn't get past the first few sips

Some kind of yogurt drink. Sickeningly sweet – I couldn’t get past the first few sips

Leave a Reply

