Day 10- Tokyo

I have to apologize ahead of time for these last few posts.  I’d gone to most of where I wanted to go in Tokyo already, so I spent these days mainly going back to places I really liked.  Hence, fewer new things to post photos of.  Day 10 saw me back at Senso-ji Shrine:

DSC02257 DSC02259 DSC03049 DSC03048 DSC03053 DSC02254 DSC02263

 

Then Ueno

DSC02145 DSC02146 DSC02185 DSC02194 DSC02195 DSC02235

And finally, Ikebukuro

DSC02432 DSC03111 DSC03112 DSC03114 IMG_0895 IMG_0899 IMG_0901 IMG_0902 IMG_0904

 

Food of the Day (I’ll be the first to admit that the snacking got a little out of control…but it was all so delicious and fairly cheap :))

Amazake - sweet sake. It tasted just like it was supposed to - sweet, strong wine.  Not my thing

Amazake – sweet sake. It tasted just like it was supposed to – sweet, strong wine. Not my thing

Curry, soba, and rice.  Funny story, I was practicing eating the rice with chopsticks (and doing just fine), but the woman who ran the shop came over twice to mime using the spoon.  It's like, I know you're just trying to be helpful, and I know I'm a foreigner, but I don't need help to eat my food!

Curry, soba, and rice. Funny story: I was practicing eating the rice with chopsticks (and doing just fine), but the woman who ran the shop came over twice to mime using the spoon. It’s like, I know you’re just trying to be nice and helpful, and I know I’m a foreigner, but I don’t need help to eat my food! I got this 🙂

Bikkle.  Another yogurt based drink.  Another disappointment.

Bikkle. Another yogurt based drink. Another disappointment.

Dotour milk-tea.  The consolation prize for the Bikkle. Much better.

Dotour milk-tea. The consolation prize for the Bikkle. Much better.

Misc rice-based sweet.

Misc rice-based sweet.

I couldn't resist something called "The Pungency."  Especially when the ad campaign featured Cinderella.  It turned out to just be milk tea.

I couldn’t resist something called “The Pungency.” Especially when the ad campaign featured Cinderella. It turned out to just be milk tea.

Japanese Plum Monjya

Japanese Plum Monjya

Kibidango - yet another rice-based sweet

Kibidango – yet another rice-based sweet

Green tea monjya

Green tea monjya

Leave a Reply

