Day 9 – Back in Tokyo

After a very long, uncomfortable overnight bus ride back to Tokyo (I’ve decided to swear off overnight bus trips from now on.  They’re just not worth it), I arrived back in Shinjuku and took in the gorgeous architecture again before heading over to the Edo Tokyo Museum.

DSC03094 DSC03060 DSC03059 DSC03086 DSC03083 DSC03082 DSC03077 DSC03064 DSC03063 DSC03062 DSC03061

 

Next to the Edo Tokyo Museum was the National Sumo Arena.  I didn’t go in, but I did see some sumo wrestlers in “full dress” through the fence, though I didn’t get any photos and kind of wish I could un-see them….

DSC03093 DSC03096 DSC03095

I headed back down to Meiji shrine and Harajuku for more sight-seeing and lunch.

IMG_0856

Remember those tiny digital pocket pets we had to sneak into school so they wouldn’t die of starvation while we were away? Yep, there’s an entire department store dedicated to them….

IMG_0851

Dressing up is all the rage

DSC01966 IMG_0853 IMG_0848 DSC03097

 

Unfortunately this was one of the few days with less than spectacular weather.  I had planned on heading to Akihabara after dinner, but the rain kept me inside 😦

 

Food of the Day:

Lipton Milk Tea

Lipton Milk Tea

When I saw this, I thought it was a corn-flavored drink and was intrigued.  Because no way would it be actual corn.  That would be too weird.  How wrong I was.  It was like cracking open a can of great giant corn from your local supermarket.  Good thing I was hungry when I got it :)

When I saw this, I thought it was a corn-flavored drink and was intrigued. Because no way would it be actual corn. That would be too weird. How wrong I was. It was like cracking open a can of great giant corn from your local supermarket. Good thing I was hungry when I got it 🙂

Soba in curry.

Soba in curry.

Cold kusamochi-type dessert

Cold kusamochi-type dessert

 

Strawberry latte.  A little too sweet

Strawberry latte. A little too sweet

Leave a Reply

