Bittersweet

Life is a little bittersweet right now, though luckily with more emphasis on the “sweet” than the “bitter.”

Sweet:

1. HOCKEY IS BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LET’S GO RANGERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Gary Bettman and Donald Fehr need to go away.  Forever.

2. Thanks to the holidays and birthdays, I’ve been spending more time than ever with the family.

3.  I’m already looking forward 18 months to my trip with my brother to Italy and Germany in June 2014 (I changed my half of the trip to Rome and Venice :)).  I’ve made peace with not going to London and Paris this year, because I really do want to take my brother to Europe instead.  London and Paris will still be there the year after.

Bitter:

1. I’m still working at AAA.  And thanks to the stupid increase in social security tax and health insurance, I now net $40 less a pay period than I did last year.  I made $4 a pay period more when I first started, before my raise, then I do now.

2.  There’s nothing to do in STL, especially in the winter.  At least when the weather is nice I can walk through Forest Park and imagine myself in Central Park. Even the movies I’ve watched lately (Les Mis and Anna Karenina) failed to impress. I’m. So. Bored.

3.  I miss Tokyo 😦

 

If I can change my bitter point #1, I’m hoping that’ll help with #2.  The only thing to help with #3 is another trip…If only money grew on trees… I know everything’ll work out, but the sooner things change, the better.  Yes, yes, I know the grass is not always greener on the other side, but I’m finished with where I’m at.

Leave a Reply

